Project area Lower Saxony and Minden-Luebbecke

The project area Lower Saxony and Minden-Luebbecke stretches across the whole country from the city of Porta Westfalica (district of Minden-Luebbecke, North Rhine-Westphalia) in the west over large parts of south-east Lower Saxony and comprises 24 project areas. The northernmost project area is in Hannover (Atlantic region), the southernmost project area is near Hannoversch Muenden (district of Goettingen) and in the southern Harz foreland in Walkenried (district of Goettingen, continental region). The north-eastern border of the project region lies near Vienenburg in the district of Goslar.

The project region is located in the area of the low mountain range threshold in the Lower Saxon highlands with project areas in the Harz foothills and the loess plains in the North German lowlands.

Natural regions are the Weserbergland, the Weser-Leine-Bergland, the northern Harz foreland, the Harz mountains and the Lower Saxony Plains.

The project areas are distributed across the administrative boundaries of the Minden-Luebbecke district, the districts of Goslar, Goettingen, Hameln-Pyrmont, Hildesheim, Holzminden, Northeim, Schaumburg as well as the cities of Hanover, Hildesheim, Salzgitter and the Hanover region.


The project areas are managed by NABU Niedersachsen e.V.